Skip to navigation Skip to content

Luethe earns First Team honors as NAC releases Women's Basketball awards

Luethe earns First Team honors as NAC releases Women's Basketball awards

WAUKESHA, Wis. – Concordia University Wisconsin junior forward Katie Luethe was named to the All-Northern Athletics Conference First Team, highlighting three Falcons players who earned awards, as the league announced its 2012-2013 honors Tuesday.

Luethe (Oshkosh, Wis.) was named to the First Team after leading CUW in scoring this season, averaging 13.6 points per game, ranking her fifth in the conference. She also pulled down a team-best 6.1 rebounds per game, while also tying for team lead in steals, averaging two per contest.

The junior forward also topped the 1,000-point plateau this year in a game against Marian University Feb. 5. The Feb. 5 contest also clinched the NAC North Division crown for CUW.

Senior guard Brittany Zietlow (Oak Creek, Wis.) earned Second Team All-NAC honors after leading the conference in assists, dishing out 132. She averaged 4.7 assists per game, while also scoring 7.9 points per contest. Zietlow poured in a season-high 18 points Jan. 16 against Edgewood College.

Freshman forward Megan Coenen (Green Bay, Wis.) was chosen to the NAC All-Freshman Team after a strong rookie campaign for CUW. Coenen finished 2012-2013 averaging 7.5 points per game and pulled down 3.5 rebounds per contest. She netted a season-best 15 points against Maranatha Baptist Bible College Jan. 29.

Shavon Dillon of Wisconsin Lutheran College was named the NAC Player of the Year, while Laci Peterson of Maranatha was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year after leading the nation in blocks. Dillon and Peterson's coaches, Klay Knueppel and Clayton Morrison were selected as Co-Coaches of the Year. Megan Kroll of MSOE rounded out the major award winners, being chosen as Freshman of the Year.

Behind the strong play of its three All-NAC representatives, CUW finished the 2012-2013 season with a 19-9 record, capturing a NAC North crown with a 14-4 mark in league play. The Falcons advanced to the NAC Championship Game for the fourth time in the league's seven-year history.

2013 All-Northern Athletics Conference Women's Basketball Awards
Player of the Year: Shavon Dillon, Wisconsin Lutheran College
Defensive Player of the Year: Laci Peterson, Maranatha Baptist Bible College
Freshman of the Year: Megan Kroll, MSOE
Co-Coaches of the Year: Klay Knueppel, Wisconsin Lutheran College; Clayton Morrison, Maranatha Baptist Bible College

First Team All-Northern Athletics Conference
Shavon Dillon, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Sr., G
Jessica Genke, Concordia University Chicago, Jr., F
Devon Gorman, Alverno College, Jr., F
Katie Luethe, Concordia University Wisconsin, Jr., F
Becky Mayo, Lakeland College, Sr., F
Laci Peterson, Maranatha Baptist Bible College, Jr., C

Second Team All-Northern Athletics Conference
Torey DeLozier, Maranatha Baptist Bible College, Sr., F
Leah Eisner, Lakeland College, Jr., C
Autumn Peotter, Maranatha Baptist Bible, Sr., G
Kristen Schulz, Wisconsin Lutheran College, So., C
Alison Tobin, Edgewood College, Sr., F
Brittany Zietlow, Concordia University Wisconsin, Sr., G

Honorable Mention: Bethany Dorrington, Aurora University; Michelle Gaede, Benedictine University; Megan Kroll, MSOE; Vincenza Ranallo, Benedictine University; Krystyna Rickett, Concordia University Chicago; Erin Ryczek, Rockford College; Kristen Speerschneider, Alverno College

All-Freshman Team
Rissa Cerveny, Marian University, Fr., G
Megan Coenen, Concordia University Wisconsin, Fr., F
Bethany Dorrington, Aurora University, Fr., G
Megan Kroll, MSOE, Fr., G
Ciara Marlow, Aurora University, Fr., G